I’m not sorry.


I’m not sorry that I refuse to conform to societal values, I am not sorry for not being a size zero, I am not sorry that my hair is not long and fish bone straight. I’m not sorry for having luscious curves and skin like pure caramel. I’m not sorry that I refuse to be a dumb girl just to secure the looks of guys with no panache whatsoever. I’m not sorry that I have dreams that can surpass your imagination. I’m not sorry for having a weakness for a good book, I’m not sorry that I put my education before everything else. I’m not sorry that I have an amazing God who is always there by my side. I’m not sorry that I am not an embodiment of your sexual fantasies, I’m not sorry that I am still a virgin,I’m not sorry that I refuse to be broken down by society. I feel a deep pity for you. I will never be sorry for who I am, society will never use me as an example, I refuse to be your scapegoat, I will not be a pitiful story that is told in hushes and whispers. I refuse to be that girl. I am beautifully imperfect.

One thought on “I’m not sorry.

Leave a Reply

